we are unable to do undo-checkout some entities in source because of db issue in hp alm project, so we are going to delete version history of the project.
question is : 1) is there any effect on test cases, req,etc if delete version history from VC_* tables.
2) after upgrade data will be same in destination or not.
For eg : some test cases modified in version number 3,4 now we are deleting project version history for upgrade purpose so will i get modified test cases in destination or initial test cases.
Appreciate if you help me.
Answer by Dan · Dec 08, 2016 at 03:28 PM
Praveen, What will occur is the version history will be lost and the last currently saved version will be the version that is carried forward during the upgrade/migration. Any changes that were in process and not saved/closed will not be reflected in the test case. The last known good version will be the version. Say you had version 3 saved and then were in the process of version 4 changes, anything changed to create version 4 will be lost and need to be recreated and the version that is migrated will be version 3 (but since VC is turned off it will be version 1 and all previous history will be lost too, yes this is unfortunate but the only way the migration can be completed unless you can get the checkouts reversed without disabling VC nd in some cases this is the only way to make the migration complete).
Hope this helps, Dan