Is there a way to restrict users from deleting history data of ALM fields?

  • Questions
  • Is there a way to restrict users from deleting history data of ALM fields?
Question ID: 105388
1
0

I want to limit some users from being able to remove/clear the history on particular fields in ALM. Not sure of how to best go about that.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 56, Answers: 1)
Asked on April 29, 2014 9:16 pm
6 views
Answers (1)
1
Private answer

Yes, you can restrict users from being able to delete ALM entity history.

This can be done via removing a Permission under the Groups and Permissions for a particular user group, within Project Customization.

The Permission to remove is Clear History. Find this under Administration tab which is under the Permissions tab for a specific user group.

As you might not want to limit this feature for all users within a group, recommended best practice is more to restrict specific users. This can best be done by making a new custom user group, editing the permission, and then adding the users you want restricted to this one group only.

A user who is in a group who does not have Clear History permission should receive an error in QC/ALM that shows Error: No Permission to remove an item.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 1, Answers: 116)
Answered on April 29, 2014 9:17 pm
That looks like it will work great. Didn't know that admin permission was even there.
( at April 29, 2014 9:23 pm)