When you delete a file from an entity, the file is not immediately deleted from the project directory, as it may still be used by other entities.
At regular intervals, the project repository is scanned for files that are no longer used by any entity. Any such files are deleted from the project repository.
By default, each project repository is scanned once every seven days.
We can promote or postpone a project's repository cleanup. In the Site Admin , we select a project and look in its 'Project details' tab.
Under Repository Cleanup, we can promote or delay the scheduled project repository cleanup by clicking on the available button :
***Promote Repository Cleanup*** - Instructs ALM to cleanup the repository of the current project as soon as possible.
***Postpone Repository Cleanup*** - Instructs ALM to postpone the repository cleanup of the current project, or to stop a cleanup that is in progress.
We can define the following site configuration parameters to regulate the project repository cleanup process :
This parameter defines the time interval in days between cleaning processes of each project repository.
Set a value in days between 1 and 28.
If the parameter does not exist, ALM scans project repositories once every seven days.
The parameter determines the speed at which the repository cleanup process is performed.
Set a value between 0 (fastest) and 10 (slowest).
If the parameter does not exist, the speed is set to 3.
The parameter stops the cleanup process on the entire site. Use this only in special circumstances.
For example, to check if the cleanup process is impacting system performance. Define this parameter and set its value to ''Y'' to temporarily stop the project repository cleaning process.