UFT License Priority (Reservation Management Pools)?

Category:
Question ID: 108999
1
0

We have 10 concurrent license for UFT. Recently we have added some new folks who login and take license to max us out of 10 license. We want to be able to set priority to a pool of 10 people, then if these new folks are logged in, we would like the folks in the pool to grab a license and kick the new folks, not in the pool, off. Is this possible?

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 359, Answers: 26)
Asked on April 30, 2019 2:53 pm
8 views
Answers (1)
1
Private answer

No, there does not exist any type of priority/hierarchical logic to the Reservation Management (Pool) feature of AutoPass to where a user can be automatically kicked off/revoked in priority to another user. The only way to revoke a user from UFT is to either revoke via AutoPass > Usage Reports > License Usage > Feature ID > Revoke or to set an idle timeout on the client. Moreover, the ''reserved capacity'' for a pool is always static and cannot dynamically change.

This is basically how the different pool options work:

''Allowed'' pool - A pool that reserves a number of licenses (reserved capacity) for the pool users but still allows a user from this pool to connect if the reserved capacity is maxed and there is still another ''common pool'' license available.

Example: a pool mapping of Pool_A:10 means a pool named ''Pool_A'' that always reserves 10 licenses for the users in that pool, plus also allows these pool users to obtain a license if the reserved capacity of 10 is maxed and there is still another ''common pool'' license available (outside of the reserved 10).

''Restricted'' pool - A pool that reserves a number of licenses (reserved capacity) for the pool users but does not allow a user from this pool to connect if the reserved capacity is maxed even if there is still another ''common pool'' license available.

Example: a pool mapping of Pool_R:10(r) means a pool named ''Pool_R'' that always reserves 10 licenses for the users in that pool and also restricts these pool users from obtaining a license if the reserved capacity of 10 is maxed.

''Blocked'' pool - Users specified in this pool will be blocked from obtaining a license (i.e., a restricted pool with 0 reserved capacity).

Example: a pool mapping of Pool_B:0(r) means a pool named ''Pool_B'' that always blocks the users in that pool from obtaining a license.

Reference KB article KM02707403 (''How to use reservation feature with AutoPass concurrent licenses'') for additional details:

https://softwaresupport.softwaregrp.com/doc/KM02707403

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 0, Answers: 707)
Answered on April 30, 2019 2:56 pm
Thanks for the clarification, this helps.
( at April 30, 2019 3:00 pm)