Copying workflow customization between projects

  • Questions
  • Copying workflow customization between projects
Question ID: 106156
0
0

We have a project that we have created all of our workflow customization in and would like to apply that to new projects as we create them. Is there a way to do this without the hassle of maintaining cross-project customization?

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 122, Answers: 3)
Asked on July 7, 2015 1:40 pm
6 views
Answers (1)
0
Private answer

The workflow customization is stored in a series of files in the project's repository. The easiest way would likely be to to copy these files from the template project's repository to the existing project's repository. This method will not account for workflow that already exists and additional work may be needed if a merge of customizations is needed. I would recommend trying this on a test project before applying to production projects.

1) To access the repository files we need to enable the FTP access in the Site Administrator. To do this, add the below parameter to the Site Admin - Site Configuration tab.

Parameter:
FTP_PORT

Value:
21

2) Connect to the QC repository via FTP using the ALM server URL as the host and a site admin login as the user/pass. You can do this in Windows Explorer by inputting this address (adjust for your login).

FTP://adminuser:adminpass@ALMServerName/

3) In the repository, you will first have folders for the domains in your Quality Center and under these folders will be folders for the projects. Browse to the domain and project for your template project. Inside of the project's folder go the the folder labeled ''scripts''. Each of the .tds (test director script) files in this directory contains the workflow script for specific modules. Copy each or all of the tds script files that you need.

4) In the repository FTP, browse to the domain/project folder for the child/destination project. Open the scripts directory and place the copied files into that directory.

Note:
If there are any files currently located in this directory, then the project already has some workflow customization. Replacing the files will overwrite any previous customization in the project for that specific file/module. It may be best to back up the child/destination tds file first in this case.

5) Once the tds files are copied to the project, you should be able to log in to the project and see the customization. You can choose to remove the Site Parameter for the FTP at this time if you wish (or leave it in). I would recommend checking your user defined field numbers and attempt to match them between projects to keep changes in the workflow for each project afterward to a minimum.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 3, Answers: 168)
Answered on July 7, 2015 1:40 pm