New field created showing as required when the setup of that field is not

  • Questions
  • New field created showing as required when the setup of that field is not
Question ID: 107383
0
0

Recently we had a request to add a field to the defect module in ALM with the goto list YesNoExtended which we were able to do without issue. Part of that was to make the field not required and defaulted to No. The third and final part was if Yes was selected, the field would then show as required along with prompting another new field which we made called "Input Footprints Ticket #". These two fields were setup without the "required checkbox" upon creation. The script editor for the defect module was then edited to parameterize accordingly. We put the below code into the defects script module.

For Bug_New:

Sub Bug_New
On Error Resume Next

If (Bug_Fields("BG_User_02").Value = "Yes") then
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsRequired = true
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsVisible = true
Else
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsRequired = false
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsVisible = false
End if

Then For Bug_FieldChange

If (Bug_Fields("BG_User_02").Value = "Yes") then
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsRequired = true
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsVisible = true
Else
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsRequired = false
Bug_Fields("BG_User_09").IsVisible = false
End If

MY ISSUE Is that this field is that the BG_User_02 is showing as required when we have never set it to be. What I am wondering is if an older field that was required in the past was deleted in the workflow manager and it wasn’t removed. Is it possible that it kept some settings of that older field in the workflow manager causing this required issue. Should the workflow manager have to be modified for the field details on their default settings and if so what is the format for that. Please advise.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 199, Answers: 1)
Asked on January 24, 2017 10:20 pm
3 views
Answers (1)
0
Private answer

GoDawgs,

Please check all of the workflow code to make sure there is no place where the .isRequired field is being set to True. This may have been the case for the old field that was deleted. However, when fields are deleted in the ALM customization GUI, their corresponding code in the Workflow is not so whoever deletes the field needs to remove the code as well. Once the .IsRequired field setting is fixed, your code will work properly.

I hope this helps.

Thanks,
David

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 1, Answers: 213)
Answered on January 24, 2017 10:25 pm