After upgrading from QC10 to QC11, I am missing repository files!

  • Questions
  • After upgrading from QC10 to QC11, I am missing repository files!
Question ID: 105095
1
0

I have just restored and upgraded (after verify and repair) many QC10 projects to QC/ALM11.
I have only activated a few and have started to play with them and look around in the file system.
I noticed something strange – it seems some of my projects have all of the original repository folders, some have nose, except for a folder called "ProjRep" and some have that ProjRep folder and only some of the original ones.

Did I do something wrong? What happened to my folders?

Should I re-do my project migration and upgrade?

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 185, Answers: 13)
Asked on August 5, 2013 8:31 pm
3 views
Answers (1)
2
Private answer

GoBroncos,

You fell for the old ''optimized repository'' issue.

Actually is is not an issue, but a new ''feature'' of ALM/QC11 and later.
HP has updated the repository to a newer ''optimized repository'', where it works a little more like a configuration management system -- it tries to identify duplicates and only stores once then uses reverences to duplicates - it should use less disk space and be faster.

As soon as you finish upgrading a project, then activate it, the ''Repository Migration'' process starts automatically int he background. It may take a few minutes to a few days for each project, depending on how large it's repository is. You can monitor the progress from Site Admin with eh new Tools/Repository Migration tool.
During migration (less than 100%), you cannot Copy or Export your project, and users may notice attachment/repository ''issues'' when they happen to work with a record whose repository items are currently being migrated.

When complete, the project repository folder for a given project should only have the ''ProjRep'' folder and the dbid.xml file. If a project 's repository migration is started, but not finished yet, you would see the new ProjRep folder, and would notice some old folders are missing, but not all of them.

So, it does sound like the upgrade you did is progressing and you should not need to do it over. check the Repository Migration status.

If a migrations seems to get stuck at 97%, say, you need to look at the notes referenced in the repository migration status tool window, go to the log file referenced, and see what it says -- usually it is a file or two that it can't/won't delete, so you need to do it.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 3, Answers: 466)
Answered on August 5, 2013 8:42 pm
whew! Thanks, I missed that int he Install guide. I will monitor the Repository Migration Status.
( at August 5, 2013 8:44 pm)