Getting ”previous HP ALM Synchronizer version was not uninstalled”, but we DID uninstall it

  • Questions
  • Getting ''previous HP ALM Synchronizer version was not uninstalled'', but we DID uninstall it
Question ID: 107723
1
0

We are in the middle of an HP Synchronizer upgrade.

We used the control panel "programs and features" (previously "add/remove programs") to UNINSTALL our old HP-synchronizer server and left Postgres (per HP-Sync Install Guide).

When try to we install newer HP-Sync version, we get a message about a previous HP ALM Synchronizer
version was not uninstalled.

What can we do?

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 176, Answers: 12)
Asked on July 18, 2017 4:05 pm
2 views
Answers
1
Private answer

It is odd, but this can occur even when HP ALM Synchronizer in not listed in Windows
Add or Remove Programs (because you just uninstalled it).

References to the previous installation may remain in the vpd.properties file, located in the Windows
system root folder.

To remove all remaining references to a previous installation:

1. Verify that the HP ALM Synchronizer was uninstalled by checking that it is not listed in Windows
''Programs and features'' (or Add or Remove Programs).

2. Navigate to the Windows system root (%systemroot%) folder and backup the vpd.properties file (to another name).

3. In a text editor, open the vpd.properties file and delete all rows containing references to HP ALM
Synchronizer.

Try new version install again.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 3, Answers: 448)
Answered on July 18, 2017 4:10 pm