Lost our user information after upgrade to 11.52

  • Questions
  • Lost our user information after upgrade to 11.52
Question ID: 105618
1
0

We are in the process of upgrading from QC11.0 to 11.52.
We created a NEW qcsiteadmin_db since we don’t want to bring along "old baggage" from older QC versions.
Site admin comes up just fine and new we are migrating old projects into 11.52 with editing the dbid.xml’s and doing RESTORE/VERIFY/REPAIR/UPGRADE.
As we do this, it adds users to the list in siteadmin as expected.

During the process, we’ve noticed that any users that are migrated along with their projects lose their user data when viewed in 11.52. We can successfully add users doing LDAP keyword lookup, and all user data will persist, but migration strips out all information except the actual user name.

What are we doing wrong that migrated users lose their data?

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 185, Answers: 13)
Asked on October 17, 2014 4:07 pm
3 views
Answers (1)
1
Private answer

When you stood up the 11.52 server, you decided to create a NEW qcsiteadmin_db instead of UPGRADING the old one.

If you would have instead UPGRADED one, it usually carries over the ''global'' user list and user data (email address, phone number, etc.).

If you create a NEW one, it of course does not.

When you RESTORE a project and upgrade it, QC will ''populate new/additional users seen in the project into the ''global'' user list (Site Users tab in Site Admin), but does not carry any other information other than the USERID (no full name, password, email address, etc.).

Also, sometimes if you UPGRADE qcsiteadmin and it is trying to use an incorrect (for the new server's location in the network or firewall) login for LDAP, the LDAP Authentication and Import settings on the Site Users tab may need to be updated.

Marked as spam
Posted by (Questions: 3, Answers: 466)
Answered on October 17, 2014 4:10 pm